Jean-François Laberge

Ligne directe:
(613) 696-1313 or
(613) 236-9442 poste 174

Courriel:
jlaberge@lmrlawyers.com

Adjointe:
Marie Hélène Bélanger
(613) 236-9442 poste 134
mbelanger@lmrlawyers.com

Les domaines de pratique de Jean-François incluent:
, , , , , La défense en matière d’assurance, La négligence professionnelle, Le droit de la construction, Le litige en matière de droit des sociétés

Jean-François Laberge Version imprimable

 Jean-François Laberge

Jean-François Laberge est un associé chez LMR et parfaitement bilingue (français/anglais). Il est un plaideur premièrement et avant tout, avec une pratique en litige civil axée vers les domaines des blessures corporelles, la négligence médicale, les litiges en droit des successions et le droit des assurances.

Jean-François représente les individus tout comme les entreprises, ces dernières incluant des institutions financières et banques, compagnies d’assurances, sociétés de condominiums, conseils scolaires et municipalités.

Jean-François a démontré ses talents de plaideur en causes de préjudices corporels et décès, négligence médicale, ainsi que des instances complexes d’exécution forcée. Jean-François fourni régulièrement des opinions juridiques concernant des questions de garantie d’assurance, la négligence des professionnels, les obligations des cadres et dirigeants ainsi que questions de gouvernance. Il a plaidé avec succès des causes traitant de négligence professionnelle, invalidité de longue durée, responsabilité des établissements commerciaux, disputes successorales, droit de la construction ainsi que les contrats commerciaux et les disputes de sociétés en nom collectif.

En 2013, Jean-François a été octroyé le prestigieux prix du Juge principal régional, le but du prix étant d’honorer les avocats pratiquant le droit depuis dix ans ou moins, qui sont membres (ou anciens membres) de l’Association du Barreau du Comté de Carleton (ABCC), et qui contribue de façon remarquable en tant qu’avocat plaidant ou avocat au sein de la profession, et/ou en dehors de celle-ci au sein de leur collectivité.

Jean-François est très impliqué au sein de la communauté juridique : il a enseigné les cours de droit des assurances et de droit commercial à la Faculté de droit de l’Université d’Ottawa – section de common law (français). Présentement, il est membre du Conseil d’administration de l’Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario (AJEFO) en tant que Représentant régional de l’Outaouais depuis près d’une décennie. Il est fondateur et fût le premier Président du Comité des jeunes avocats de l’AJEFO. Il est le Coprésident du Comité de planification pour les nouveaux avocats, stagiaires et parajuristes de l’Association du barreau du comté de Carleton. Il fournit aussi des services juridiques bénévoles aux organisations locales sans but lucratif.

Jean-François est membre du Barreau du Haut-Canada, de l’Association du Barreau canadien, de l’Association du Barreau de l’Ontario, de l’Association du Barreau du Comté de Carleton, de l’Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario et de la Societé des plaideurs.

Pour s’amuser, Jean-François Laberge est un joueur de rugby faisant partie du club Ottawa Wolves RFC et un skieur alpin de longue date, ayant obtenu sa désignation Niveau II de l’AMSC il y plusieurs années.

Fait intéressant :
Jean-François est passionné de ski alpin : il a obtenu sa certification de Niveau 2 de l’AMSC et a enseigné à plusieurs stations de ski dans les Laurentides.

Communiquez avec Jean-François

Portrait of Jean-François Laberge

Direct Line:
(613) 696-1313 or
(613) 236-9442 Ext. 174

Email:
jlaberge@lmrlawyers.com

Assistant:1
Marie Hélène Bélanger
(613) 236-9442 Ext. 134
mbelanger@lmrlawyers.com

Jean-François Practices in the areas of:
, , , , , Insurance Defence, Professional Negligence, Construction Law, Corporate Litigation

Jean-François Laberge Printer Friendly Version

Portrait of Jean-François Laberge

I pride myself on being direct and always letting my clients know where they stand. Together, we identify their problem and find the most practical solution.

Jean-François Laberge is a Partner and Head of the Litigation Department of LMR. Jean-François is fluently bilingual (English/French). He is first and foremost an advocate recognized for his practice in civil litigation, which is focused on the following: personal injury, medical malpractice, estate litigation and insurance law.

Jean-François has acted both for individual and corporate clients, the latter including financial institutions and banks, insurance companies, condominium corporations, school boards and municipalities.

Jean-François has proven litigation experience in personal injury, medical malpractice, wrongful death as well as complex enforcement and realization proceedings. Jean-François routinely provides legal advice to his clients regarding insurance coverage questions, negligence of regulated professionals, Directors’ and Officers’ liability and corporate governance issues. He has successfully litigated professional negligence claims, long term disability insurance claims, occupier’s liability cases, wills and estate disputes, construction lien cases as well as commercial contract and partnership disputes.

In 2013, Jean-François, was awarded the prestigious Regional Senior Justice Award, the purpose of which is to honour a lawyer in practice for ten years or less, who is a member (or former member) of the County Carleton Law Association (CCLA), and who has made an outstanding contribution as a litigator or solicitor within the profession and/or outside the profession by making an outstanding contribution to the community.

Jean-François is very involved in the legal community: He taught the Insurance Law course and Commercial Law course at the Faculty of Law of the University of Ottawa – French Common Law Section. He sat on the Board of the Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario (AJEFO) as the Regional Representative for the Outaouais Region for almost a decade. He was the founder and first ever President of the Young Lawyers Committee of the AJEFO. He was the co-Chair of the New Lawyers & Articling Students Planning Committee of the County of Carleton Law Association for many years and established the CCLA’s One Day Summit Conference. He also provides pro bono legal services to local not-for-profit organizations.

Jean-François Laberge is a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada, the Canadian Bar Association, Ontario Bar Association, Carleton County Law Association, l’Association des juristes d’expression française de l’Ontario and the Advocates’ Society.

In his spare time, Jean-François plays rugby for the Ottawa Wolves RFC and is an avid downhill skier, having obtained his CSIA Level II designation many years ago.

Interesting Fact:
Jean-Francois is an avid downhill skier, having obtained his Level II C.S.I.A. certification and has been a ski instructor at various resorts in the Laurentian region.

Contact Jean-François